You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

New combinations feature in rowing squad

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 2/03/2017

The absence of four Olympic medallists has opened the way for some new faces in a 39-strong New Zealand rowing team named at Lake Karapiro on Thursday.

Two-time Olympian Robbie Manson takes over the men's single scull from Mahe Drysdale, granted 12 months leave after successfully defending his Olympic title last year.

And with Rio gold medallists Eric Murray and Hamish Bond also on a year's break, Tom Murray and James Hunter have been named as the new men's pair.

Genevieve Behrent and Rebecca Scown, who won silver at Rio in the women's coxless pair, have been replaced by Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast.

While Behrent is on leave from rowing, Scown has been named in the women's eight.

There are 19 returning Olympians in the squad, which takes in 10 different boat classes.

High performance director Alan Cotter says the selections reinforce the priority given to the small boats, as well as continuing to develop the men's and women's eight programmes.

"It's an exciting squad with opportunities for new athletes and crews," Cotter said.

"We've set ourselves a very high standard and there are some big shoes to fill, but I'm confident these athletes can take up the challenge."

The squad will contest World Cup events in Poznan, Poland on June 15-18 and Lucerne, Switzerland (July 7-9), as well as the Henley Royal Regatta (June 28-July 2).

A final trial will be held in August to select crews for the world championships in the United States in September.

New Zealand rowing squad:


Single scull: Robbie Manson. Lightweight single scull: Matthew Dunham. Coxless pair:Tom Murray and James Hunter. Double scull: Chris Harris and John Storey. Coxless quad: Lewis Hollows, Cameron Crampton, Nathan Flannery and Giacomo Thomas. Eight (final crew to be confirmed): Drikus Conradie, Brook Robertson, Alex Kennedy, Cameron Webster, Isaac Grainger, Shaun Kirkham, Anthony Allen, James Lassche, Patrick McInnes, Stephen Jones, Caleb Shepherd (cox).


Double scull (final crew to be confirmed): Hannah Osborne, Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue. Coxless pair: Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast . Lightweight double scull: Zoe McBride and Jackie Kiddle. Eight (final crew to be confirmed): Georgia Perry, Jackie Gowler, Emma Dyke, Lucy Spoors, Rebecca Scown, Kelsi Walters, Kelsey Bevan, Ruby Tew, Ashlee Rowe, Kirstyn Goodger, Sam Bosworth (cox).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon