You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

NZ win toss in ODI, Brownlie named

NZN 4/02/2017 Angelo Risso

New Zealand have won the toss and will bat against Australia in their Chappell-Hadlee ODI decider in Hamilton.

Having won the first ODI by six runs and seeing the second in Napier rained out, the Kiwis will look to notch a solid first-up total in pristine Waikato conditions.

On the team front, Martin Guptill has failed to recover in time from a hamstring strain suffered in Auckland, with veteran Dean Brownlie lining up at opener.

The team otherwise takes on an identical complexion to the first ODI, as Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor gear up for big totals at first and second-drop.

An in-form Neil Broom retains his position at No.5, while Colin Munro and Jimmy Neesham will enable the Kiwis to bat deep into the order.

Colin de Grandhomme has again been omitted.

With the ball, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Tim Southee will lead the attack, with Mitch Santner again selected over Ish Sodhi as spinner.

Matt Henry will sit out the match.

BLACK CAPS: Dean Brownlie, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Mitch Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon