You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Olympic sprinters head strong NZ squad

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 4/11/2016

Olympic silver medallists Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster will head a 41-strong New Zealand squad at next month's Oceania track cycling championships in Melbourne.

The trio head a seven-strong men's sprint team which also includes 2012 Olympic keirin silver medallist Simon van Velthooven.

With next year's world championships pushed back to April, and an early start to the World Cup series in Europe, Cycling NZ decided to instead focus on the Oceania championships to kick-start the international season.

Head coach Dayle Cheatley says the Oceania championships, running from December 7-10, provide a good opportunity to blood some talented junior cyclists.

The team also includes Rio Olympic endurance riders Piet Bulling, Regan Gough and Aaron Gate, and Jaime Nielsen and Racquel Sheath from the women's squad.

With a capacity team in national team, some riders will compete in their centre colours in Melbourne.

The team is:


Men endurance: Pieter Bulling, Hugo Jones, Regan Gough, Connor Brown, Jared Gray, Nick Kergozou, Tom Sexton, Aaron Gate, Luke Mudgway.

Women endurance: Bryony Botha, Michaela Drummond, Holly Edmondston, Kirstie James, Alysha Keith, Nina Wollaston, Jaime Nielsen, Racquel Sheath.

Men sprint: Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster, Jordan Castle, Bradly Knipe, Simon van Velthooven, Zac Williams.

Women sprint: Emma Cumming

Under 19

Men endurance: Aaron Wyllie, Corbin Strong, Ewan Syme, George Jackson, Matt Trenchard.

Women endurance: Ellesse Andrews, Emily Shearman, Georgia Danford, Libby Arbuckle, Kate Smith, Nicole Shields.

Men sprint: Mitchell Morris, Jackson Ogle, Thomas Garbett.

Women sprint: Shaane Fulton, Sophie Leigh-Bloxham.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon