You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Past five Broncos-Cowboys NRL derbies

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 9/03/2017 Laine Clark



* Semi-finals:

Cowboys bt Broncos 26-20 (extra-time) in Townsville

An inside flick from Johnathan Thurston might have inspired Michael Morgan's match-sealing try but Cowboys back-rower Jason Taumalolo was the star, amassing a remarkable 265m to knock the Broncos out of the title race - for the second straight year

* Round 11:

Cowboys bt Broncos 19-18 in Townsville

Everyone knew how good Thurston was. But the Cowboys' playmaker gave a true insight into his toughness when he somehow overcame an injured hip from a Josh McGuire behind-play hit to step up and slot a 75th-minute match-winning field goal.

* Round 4:

Broncos bt Cowboys 21-20 (extra-time) at Suncorp Stadium

Nothing was going to make up for Brisbane's heartbreaking 2015 grand-final loss but Anthony Milford eased the pain ease somewhat by giving the Cowboys a taste of their own medicine, notching a 40m match-winning field goal in extra-time to bring a delirious Suncorp Stadium crowd to their feet


* Grand final:

Cowboys bt Broncos 17-16 (extra-time) at ANZ Stadium

Michael Morgan's flick pass set up Kyle Feldt's last-gasp try that sent the match into extra-time but Thurston again stole the show. Bouncing back from a missed sideline conversion that could have sealed it, he casually sank that field goal to clinch North Queensland's maiden title. Still considered the greatest grand final

* Qualifying final:

Broncos bt Cowboys 16-12 at Suncorp Stadium

Unheralded bench utility Kodi Nikorima broke open the arm wrestle when he made a break and set up Milford's runaway match-winning try with 14 minutes left. Brisbane's defensive wall held true throughout the Cowboys' final 10-minute bombardment

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon