You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Patrick Dangerfield wins AFL's Brownlow Medal

Associated Press Associated Press 26/09/2016

MELBOURNE, Australia — Geelong's Patrick Dangerfield has won the Brownlow Medal as the best and fairest player in the Australian Football League.

In his first season for Geelong after moving from Adelaide, Dangerfield gained 35 votes from officiating umpires in the Australian Rules Competition, nine more than Luke Parker of Sydney. Richmond's Dustin Martin was third.

Dangerfield was voted best afield on nine occasions and added the Brownlow Medal to the AFL Players Association and AFL Coaches Association awards, becoming the first man since Gary Ablett to win all three major prizes.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon