You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Proteas choose to bat first in third ODI

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 25/02/2017
Trent Boult © Getty Images Trent Boult

South Africa and New Zealand have both introduced pace to their attacks for the third one-day international in Wellington.

Proteas captain AB de Villiers won the toss and chose to bat first on a firm surface at Westpac Stadium which is expected to favour pace over spin.

Selections have reflected that, with one change each.

New Zealand have introduced speed merchant Locky Ferguson in place of legspinner Ish Sodhi while the visitors have named Kagiso Rabada in place of allrounder Chris Morris.

The tight five-match series is level 1-1, with the first games both decided in the final over.

De Villiers says victory on Saturday is hugely important.

"It's a bit of a moving game in this series. Whoever takes this one will have a good advantage," he said.

Black Caps counterpart Kane Williamson says he would have also batted first but expects conditions will remain fair in fine conditions in the capital for the day-night clash.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Dean Brownlie, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Locky Ferguson.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon