You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Proteas win toss, bat first in fourth ODI

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 1/03/2017
Quinton de Kock of South Africa is caught behind by Luke Ronchi of New Zealand. © Getty Images Quinton de Kock of South Africa is caught behind by Luke Ronchi of New Zealand.

New Zealand have recalled spinner Jeetan Patel in one of three changes to their team to face South Africa in the must-win fourth one-day international in Hamilton.

Proteas skipper AB de Villiers continued his perfect series record with the toss and, as expected, chose to bat first on a Seddon Park surface expected to take spin.

South Africa lead the five-match series 2-1 and will clinch the honours if successful on Wednesday.

The visitors have made one change, replacing seamer Andile Phehlukwayo with allrounder Chris Morris.

Veteran offspinner Patel returns in place of Black Caps paceman Lockie Ferguson while opener Martin Guptill is back from a hamstring injury and wicketkeeper Luke Ronchi reclaims the gloves.

Ronchi is likely to bat at No.5 in place of the dropped Neil Broom while opener and makeshift 'keeper Tom Latham also makes way after a lean run of form.

De Villiers said he expected the pitch to take turn, as it did in the spin-dominated first game of the series, but possibly not to the same extent.

Williamson, who would have also chosen to bat first, said New Zealand resisted selecting a third spinner (Ish Sodhi) because of uncertainty about the pitch.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Dean Brownlie, Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Jeetan Patel, Trent Boult.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon