You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Reid missing from All Whites squad

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 12/05/2016

West Ham defender Winston Reid will miss the All Whites' OFC Nations Cup campaign.

The regular skipper of the national side has had an injury blighted season in the English Premier League and, despite being made available by his club, was omitted by coach Andrew Hudson.

"Winston has had an injury-interrupted season with West Ham and I have decided it is in his and the team's best interests to get him right for the rest of the year.

"Winston is 100 per cent committed to our team," said Hudson.

Reid scored the winner for West Ham in the London side's 3-2 win over Manchester United on Wednesday in their final game at their Boleyn Ground.

Also missing the 23-man squad is former skipper Tommy Smith who Hudson said was not committed to the side.

"I will not be selecting him for the All Whites going forward. It is too disruptive to our preparation."

Leeds United frontman Chris Wood will lead the side in Reid's absence which contains four uncapped players - goalkeeper Max Crocombe, defenders Kip Colvey and Luke Adams and forward Monty Patterson.

Jeremy Brockie is also left out, while with goalkeeper Glen Moss sidelined with an eye injury the three glovemen in the squad boast a total of three international caps between them.

Rory Fallon returns up front along with Shane Smeltz in the side to play in the competition in Papua New Guinea from May 28-June 11.

"The goal of this team is to put New Zealand Football back on the world stage and that begins at the Nations Cup, our first competition together as a senior group," said Hudson.

The winner of the Nations Cup will play in the 2017 Confederations Cup.

All Whites Squad: Goalkeepers - Max Crocombe (Oxford Utd, England), Stefan Marinovic (SpVgg Unterhaching, Germany), Tamati Williams (RKC Waalwijk, Netherlands); Defenders - Luke Adams (South Melbourne FC, Australia), Michael Boxall (SuperSport Utd, South Africa), Sam Brotherton (Wisconsin University, USA), Kip Colvey (San Jose Earthquakes FC, USA), Thomas Doyle (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Louis Fenton (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand); Midfielders - Te Atawhai Wihongi (Onehunga Sports FC, New Zealand), Moses Dyer (Onehunga Sports FC, New Zealand), Clayton Lewis (Onehunga Sports FC, New Zealand), Michael McGlinchey (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Matt Ridenton (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Bill Tuiloma (RC Strasbourg Alsace, France), Themi Tzimopoulos (PAS Giannina FC, Greece); Forwards - Kosta Barbarouses (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Rory Fallon (Bristol Rovers, England), Monty Patterson (Ipswich Town FC, England), Logan Rogerson (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Marco Rojas (FC Thun, Switzerland), Shane Smeltz (Sydney FC, Australia), Chris Wood (Leeds Utd FC, England).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon