You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Santner named in World T20 tournament team

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 4/04/2016

Allrounder Mitchell Santner is the only New Zealand player named in a World Twenty20 team of the tournament named by the International Cricket Council.

Santner took 10 wickets, the most at the tournament alongside team-mate Ish Sodhi and England seamer David Willey.

While Willey was among four players from tournament runners-up England to make the side, there was no room for legspinner Ish Sodhi after the Black Caps bowed out in the semi-finals.

The ICC panel included two players from the champion West Indies - Andre Russell and Samuel Badree.

Player of the tournament Virat Kohli is the mythical team's captain following his remarkable batting deeds.

New Zealand had greater recognition in the team of the women's tournament, with four players included.

Captain Suzie Bates, fellow opener Rachel Priest, allrounder Sophie Devine and spinner Leigh Kasperek got the nod after the White Ferns followed the same route as the Black Caps, eliminated in the semi-finals after going unbeaten through pool play.

Devine and Kasperek claimed a tournament-best nine wickets each while Bates' 82 against Ireland was the highest score by any player.

There two players each from the three other semi-finalists - England, Australia and the champion West Indies.

Men's team of the tournament: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India, capt), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India). Mustafizur Rahman (12th man, Bangladesh)

Women's team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlott Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, capt), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England). Anam Amin (12th player, Pakistan).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon