You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

SANZAAR to reveal Super changes

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 9/04/2017

SANZAAR will announce the future make-up of Super Rugby on Sunday, bringing an end to a month of confusion and speculation about the competition.

It seems certain that Australia and South Africa will lose one or more teams for 2018 to allow a return to the 15-team competition with Perth's Western Force, the Port Elizabeth-based Kings and the Cheetahs of Bloemfontein the most vulnerable franchises

SANZAAR, made up of the South African, New Zealand, Australian and Argentine unions, met in London last month to hammer out a solution to the problems of an over-complicated structure.

The 18-team format, introduced in 2016 after Argentina's Jaguares and the Sunwolves of Japan joined the competition and the Kings returned, was widely criticised and there were fears the quality of the product was being diluted.

The announcement is set to be made at the conclusion of the Super Rugby round at 6pm (AEST).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon