You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Strava's safety 'Beacon' shows friends where you're training

Engadget Engadget 4/08/2016 Steve Dent
© Provided by Engadget

Strava has added a safety feature to its running and cycling app that we're surprised isn't more common. "Beacon" lets up to three friends see exactly where you're biking or running, even if they don't have the app have the app installed. On top of showing a map, It will them know if you've stopped for a long period, if your battery is low or if you're out of network range.

To activate the Beacon, you just turn it on and send a text to your contacts with the tracking link. You can also shoot them a message at any time during your run via the app. Strava already tracks every user anyway and sells the anonymized data to businesses, government and others, so the feature likely wasn't hard to implement. Beacon is only available to premium subscribers (on iOS or Android), who pay a fairly steep $6 per month or $60 a year for personalized coaching, live feedback and more.


More from Engadget

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon