You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Sunrisers Hyderabad crowned IPL champions

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 29/05/2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad are the Indian Premier League champions, winning a high-scoring final without the services of their two big-name New Zealand players.

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson and pace spearhead Trent Boult watched on as Hyderabad beat the favoured Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight runs in Bangalore to clinch a maiden title.

Their Australian captain David Warner top-scored with 69 but 208-7 didn't look enough when Chris Gayle (76) and Virat Kohli (54) got Bangalore off to a flying start.

They lost their way late in the chase, reaching 200-7, denying coach Daniel Vettori a place alongside former Black Caps Stephen Fleming (2010 and 2011) and John Wright (2013) as IPL-winning coaches from New Zealand.

Williamson played six games for the champions, averaging 20.7, while Boult was required for just one game.

Boult was a late injury call-up for their qualifying final win over former Black Caps skipper Brendon McCullum's Gujarat Lions on Friday.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon