You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Sydney FC fill A-League's all-star team

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 3/05/2017 Ben McKay

Fellow A-League players have recognised Sydney FC's record-breaking year by voting six Sky Blues into their team of the season.

Graham Arnold was named coach while Danny Vukovic and substitute Alex Brosque co-captain Professional Footballers Australia's (PFA) all-star team.

Alex Wilkinson, Rhyan Grant, Michael Zullo, Brandon O'Neill and Johnny Warren Medallist Milos Ninkovic round out the Sky Blues' super six.

There's another two Sydney FC stars on the bench; Brosque and Josh Brillante.

Fellow grand finalists Melbourne Victory boast three starting representatives.

Besart Berisha spearheads the attack, New Zealander Marco Rojas named on the wing and James Troisi in midfield.

Perth Glory forward Diego Castro and Melbourne City centre-back Michael Jakobsen round out the side.

Brisbane Roar's golden boot winner Jamie Maclaren is the most surprising non-selection, who is not even named on an extended bench.

Liam Reddy is back-up gloveman, with Jade North, Bruno Fornaroli, Brillante and Brosque the substitutes.

Ruon Tongyik and Riley McGree were also named as under-20 inclusions on the bench.


Goalkeeper: Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

Defenders: Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC), Alex Wilkinson (Sydney FC), Michael Jakobsen (Melbourne City), Michael Zullo (Sydney FC)

Midfielders: Brandon O'Neill (Sydney FC), Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory)

Forwards : Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory), Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory), Diego Castro (Perth Glory)

Substitutes: Liam Reddy (Perth Glory), Jade North (Brisbane Roar), Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City), Alex Brosque (c) (Sydney FC), Ruon Tongyik (Melbourne City), Riley McGree (Adelaide United)

Coach: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon