You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Tall Ferns selection squad named

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 24/05/2017

Tall Ferns coach Kennedy Kereama has made his first major step towards qualifying for next year's World Cup, naming a squad of 15 players for selection trials.

Kereama is happy with the group for trials in June, with players contesting places for their maiden campaign at the Women's Asia Cup in July.

That tournament is their qualifying path to the World Cup.

"We are very confident that the group of players that we have selected is the best to choose from," Kereama said.

"We have managed to bring in most of our more experienced line up with a mix of potential players who will no doubt play a part in the future of the Tall Ferns programme."

The most notable newcomer is 15-year-old guard Charlisse Leger-Walker, a student at St Peter's School in Cambridge who has played for a number of New Zealand age group teams.

Leger-Walker's older sister Krystal, who recently completed her first year at the University of Northern Colorado, is among a clutch of players unavailable for the trials.

Other uncapped players include Kayla Manuirirangi and Georgia Agnew, who have all spent time in the US College system.

Among the more experienced faces are Antonia Farnsworth (nee Edmondson), Jillian Harmon, Micaela Cocks and Natalie Taylor.

Penina Davidson and Stella Beck, recently named female player of the year at the Basketball New Zealand awards evening, are unavailable because of US College commitments.

Following the camp a team will be selected for a tour of China and Singapore before competing at Women's Asia Cup in Bangalore.

New Zealand have been drawn alongside China, Chinese Taipei and North Korea.

The top four teams from the eight-nation tournament will qualify for the World Cup.

Tall Ferns selection squad: Georgia Agnew, Jessica Bygate, Tea Charlton, Micaela Cocks, Antonia Farnworth, Deena Franklin, Jillian Harmon, Charlisse Leger-Walker, Kayla Manuirirangi, Katelin Noyer, Chevannah Palvaast, Kalani Purcell, Erin Rooney, Josephine Stockill, Natalie Taylor.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon