You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Ten newcomers named for pre-World Cup tour

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 19/05/2017 Simone Ziaziaris

Ten newcomers have been named in the Wallaroos squad for the three Test tour of New Zealand allowing new combinations to be tested ahead of the Women's World Cup.

The new faces will be joined by seven players who debuted in last year's New Zealand tour as well as Wallaroos veteran Ashleigh Hewson and Sevens co-captains Shannon Parry and Sharni Williams.

On the back of a successful XVs Championship in May the Wallaroos will play three matches against England, New Zealand and Canada next month before heading to Ireland for the World Cup in August.

Wallaroos coach Paul Verrell has been monitoring players since returning from New Zealand last year.

"It has been very encouraging to see the next generation coming through," Verrell said in a statement on Friday.

"They have really lifted their work rate both on and off the field, which has led to their selection in this squad."

"We'll continue the hard work for our three tough Test matches this June, as we continue to build depth for our Women's Rugby World Cup campaign."

Australia will open their tour against England on June 9 in Wellington.

Wallaroos squad: Cheyenne Campbell, Liz Patu, Violeta Tupuola, Evelyn Horomia, Caroline Fairs, Hilisha Samoa, Hana Ngaha, Rebecca Clough, Alisha Hewett, Millie Boyle, Alexandra Sulusi, Shannon Parry, Chloe Butler, Grace Hamilton, Vesinia Schaaf, Victoria Latu, Natasha Haines, Cobie-Jane Morgan, Katrina Barker, Samantha Treherne, Fenella Hake, Sarah Riordan, Sharni Williams, Kayla Sauvao, Nareta Marsters, Huia Swanell, Ashleigh Timoko and Ashleigh Hewson.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon