You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

The UN's secretary-generals

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 4/04/2016


The UN secretary-general is appointed by the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the security council, and therefore subject to veto by the five permanent members.

South Korea's Ban Ki-moon, 71, took office on January 1 2007. he will retire on December 31.

His seven predecessors were:

* Kofi Annan (Ghana) 1997-2006

* Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt) 1992-1996

* Javier Perez de Cuellar (Peru) 1982-1991

* Kurt Waldheim (Austria) 1972-1981

* U Thant (Burma, now Myanmar) 1961-1971

* Dag Hammarskjold (Sweden) 1953-1961 (died in plane crash in Africa)

* Trygve Lie (Norway) 1946-1952

Although there is no limit to number of five-year terms a secretary-general may serve, none so far has held office for more than two terms.

Source: United Nations

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon