You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Tories vote for new leader in 2nd round

dpadpa 7/07/2016

Conservative Party MPs will vote again to pick the two candidates who will vie for the leadership, with Home Secretary Theresa May the front runner.

One of two Brexit campaigners is expected to be eliminated in a second round of voting by Conservative Party MPs to elect Prime Minister David Cameron's successor.

Home Secretary Theresa May is the clear favourite among the three remaining candidates to become Britain's next leader.

Cameron resigned last month following his failure to persuade voters that Britain should remain in the European Union.

May supported Cameron's Remain campaign but she kept a low profile in the final weeks before the June 23 referendum.

She has vowed to provide "stability and certainty" to the country and unify her divided party.

Her challengers, Michael Gove and Andrea Leadsom, were two of the most prominent Vote Leave campaigners ahead of the referendum.

Former defence secretary Liam Fox was eliminated in the first round of voting on Tuesday and Work and Pensions Secretary Stephen Crabb, who polled fourth, dropped out.

Thursday's vote by 329 Conservative members of parliament will eliminate the least popular candidate, leaving a shortlist of two candidates for a vote by the party's 150,000 members.

May is expected to be in the final vote against one of her two pro-Brexit rivals.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon