You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Trans-Tasman All-Stars team unveiled

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 20/07/2016

Players from only two clubs - NSW Swifts and Queensland Firebirds - make up the fan-voted trans-Tasman netball league All-Star team.

There isn't a player from any of the five New Zealand teams in the ANZ Championship, although Silver Ferns veteran and Swifts midcourter Laura Langman makes the cut.

The Firebirds may have downed the Swifts by 11 goals to claim the Australian conference title on Monday, but the Swifts dominate the All-Star side announced on Wednesday with four players plus coach Rob Wright to the Firebirds' three players.

From the Swifts, captain Kim Green and goal attack Susan Pettitt were given the nod for a third consecutive year while goal keeper Sharni Layton is back for a second successive year, alongside newcomer Langman at wing defence.

For the Firebirds, goal shooter Romelda Aiken and Kim Ravaillion are in for a second year and goal defender Clare McMeniman gets her first All-Star selection.

The Firebirds face New Zealand conference runners-up Southern Steel in the Australian-hosted semi-final on Sunday while the Swifts play Kiwi winners Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic across the ditch in Hamilton on Monday.

All-Star team: shooter Romelda Aiken (Firebirds), goal attack Susan Pettitt (Swifts), wing attack Kim Green (Swifts), centre Kim Ravaillion (Firebirds), wing defence Laura Langman (Swifts), goal defence Clare McMeniman (Firebirds), goal keeper Sharni Layton (Swifts). Coach: Rob Wright (Swifts).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon