You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Will Power on pole for IndyCar Grand Prix

Associated Press logo Associated Press 12/05/2017 Michael Marot

Will Power won his third pole of the season after setting a qualifying record for the IndyCar Grand Prix.

The Australian driver completed the 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course in 1 minute, 7.7044 seconds to give Roger Penske his 250th pole win as an IndyCar owner.

Penske's drivers again dominated qualifying, taking four of the top five spots at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Friday.

Brazil's Helio Castroneves will join Power on the front row in Saturday's race after finishing in 1:08.1169.

American Josef Newgarden will start third after being clocked at 1:08.1622.

New Zealand's Scott Dixon, of Chip Ganassi Racing, and Juan Pablo Montoya will start fourth and fifth.

Defending champion Simon Pagenaud will start seventh.

Penske's cars have won all five poles this season.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon