You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Williamson wins Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 30/03/2017

Kane Williamson has been recognised for his performances across all three formats by being awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the second year in a row.

The accolade comes three days after the Black Caps skipper scored 176 against South Africa to equal Martin Crowe's record of most Test tons for New Zealand.

The 26-year-old right-hander also won the Redpath Cup for first-class batting and was named the Twenty20 Player of the Year at the New Zealand Cricket Awards .

Included in the 2016 ICC Test team of the year, Williamson assumed the New Zealand captaincy in all three formats this season and led the team to one of their most successful home summers.

He maintained his excellent form with the bat to average 59.94 in Tests, including four centuries, and average 52.66 in Twenty20s.

Amy Satterthwaite's stellar season earned her the Women's ODI Player of the Year award.

Satterthwaite finished the judging period with a staggering 935 runs at an average of 103.88, and a strike-rate of 95.89.

Her four consecutive ODI centuries, scored against Pakistan and Australia, equalled the world record set by Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara.

Paceman Neil Wagner claimed the Test Player of the Year accolade after a season in which he picked up 56 wickets from 13 Tests, second only to Hadlee's haul of 64 in 1985.

He also became the second fastest Black Cap to 100 Test wickets (26 matches), again behind Hadlee (25).


Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

Test Player of the Year: Neil Wagner

ODI International Player of the Year: Martin Guptill

Women's ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite

T20 International Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

Women's T20 Player of the Year: Suzie Bates

Winsor Cup (first-class bowling): Neil Wagner

Redpath Cup (first-class batting): Kane Williamson

Super Smash Player of the Year: Glenn Phillips

Ruth Martin Cup (domestic batting): Katey Martin

Phyl Blackler Cup (domestic bowling): Leigh Kasperek

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Neil Sulzberger.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon