You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Worker, Nicholls get NZC contracts

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 13/06/2016

Henry Nicholls and George Worker are the new faces on New Zealand Cricket's contract list for the coming year.

The list has grown from 20 to 21 players for the year beginning in August, which was a deal agreed to with the New Zealand Cricket Players Association.

Central Districts' Worker, a 26-year-old allrounder, has played two ODIs and two Twenty20s for the Black Caps while Canterbury batsman Nicholls, 24, made his Test debut earlier this year.

"When we've brought new players into the group, we've been really happy with how they've adapted and performed on the international stage," selector Gavin Larsen said.

"Henry and George have made bright starts to their Black Caps careers."

Brendon and Nathan McCullum, who have both retired from all international cricket, and Grant Elliott - only available for T20s - have all dropped off the list, allowing Ish Sodhi and Colin Munro to return.

"After missing out last year, Ish and Colin have both worked extremely hard on their game, as we saw with their performances for us in the shorter formats this summer. They thoroughly deserve their contracts," Larsen said.

The limited number of changes were representative of the consistent approach to selection, he said.

"We've built a strong group of core players over the past couple of years and that's been a key factor to the consistency of the team's performance."

A set criteria is used to rank players across all three forms of the game, with Tests receiving twice the weighting of limited overs internationals.

BLACKCAPS CONTRACTS FOR 2016-2017: Corey Anderson (Northern Districts), Trent Boult (ND), Doug Bracewell (Central Districts), Mark Craig (Otago), Martin Guptill (Auckland), Matt Henry Canterbury), Tom Latham (Canterbury), Mitchell McClenaghan (Auckland), Adam Milne (CD), Colin Munro (Auckland), James Neesham (Otago), Henry Nicholls (Canterbury), Luke Ronchi (Wellington), Mitchell Santner (ND), Ish Sodhi (ND), Tim Southee (ND), Ross Taylor (CD), Neil Wagner (Otago), BJ Watling (ND), Kane Williamson (ND), George Worker (CD).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon