You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Sport Top Stories

Legal or not? 360 degree bowling turn has cricket in a spin

Newshub logoNewshub 9/11/2018 Brad Lewis
a man throwing a ball: Shiva Singh played for India in the under-20 World Cup earlier this year. © Image: Getty; Video: Twitter Shiva Singh played for India in the under-20 World Cup earlier this year.

An Indian spin bowler has the cricket world talking after completing an audacious 360 in the middle of his bowling action.

Shiva Singh, a member of the 2018 World Cup winning Indian under-19 side, was playing for Uttar Pradesh in the CK Nayudu Trophy against Bengal.

During Bengal's second innings, Singh did a 360-degree turn before delivering the ball.

Download the Microsoft News app for your Android or iPhone device and stay up-to date on the news you care about most.

The umpire wasn't impressed however and called a dead ball.

Speaking to ESPN Cricinfo, Singh said he has completed the cheeky delivery multiple times in the past but never has it been dead balled.

"I use different variations in one-dayers and T20s so I thought of doing the same because the Bengal batsmen were developing a partnership," Shiva said.

"The umpires said dead ball, so I asked "why are you calling it a dead ball?

"I delivered this 360-degree ball against Kerala in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as well, where it was fine.

"Batsman always go for the reverse-sweep or the switch hit against bowlers.

"But when bowlers do something like this it's deemed a dead ball."

Former England skipper Michael Vaughan has come to the defence of the young bowler, calling in a great piece of innovation in an attempt to quell the increasingly growing advantages of batsmen.

The MCC, who run the international laws of the game, said there is nothing in the laws that dictate what the bowler's run-up should look like.

"The law only states if an offence is made to distract the batsman, rather than the batter actually getting distracted. Another point made by the law is for the umpire to decide if he felt the action was done in order to distract the striker," the blog read.

"The law goes on to add that only if 360-degree twirl should be part of the bowler's run-up for every delivery, then can the umpire step in to deem if the action was done to distract the batsman."

More From Newshub

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon