You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

New Zealand leave Taylor out

Sky Sports logo Sky Sports 12/02/2017
Getty © Provided by BSkyB Getty

Senior batsman Ross Taylor has again been kept out of the New Zealand Twenty20 squad to play South Africa later in the week. 

New Zealand Cricket announced its Twenty20 and one-day international squads, with Corey Anderson and Tom Bruce preferred over Taylor to prop up the middle order in the game's shortest form.

Taylor is the third-highest run scorer for New Zealand in Twenty20 cricket but has not been required since the World T20 11 months ago.

Leg spinner Ish Sodhi retains his place in the ODI squad along with Mitchell Santner, while big-hitting all-rounder Colin Munro has been dropped with Jimmy Neesham taking over the number six spot.

"Colin hasn't quite shown the consistency he would like in the middle-order and we feel Jimmy is deserved of an opportunity with the bat at six," selector Gavin Larsen said.

Getty © Provided by BSkyB Getty "Having two frontline spinners in the side gives us flexibility and Ish is an aggressive bowler who in the right conditions can be a real threat for us."

Luke Ronchi will also make his return to both forms of the game after missing the recent Australia series because of injury.

New Zealand Twenty20 squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler.

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor.

New Zealand play South Africa in a one-off Twenty20 in Auckland on Friday and a five-match ODI series starting in Hamilton on Sunday, February 19.

More From Sky Sports

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon