You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

New Zealand names familiar squad for Australian tour, with only four quicks named

ABC Grandstand logoABC Grandstand 11/09/2015
New Zealand players © Reuters New Zealand players

New Zealand will take only four frontline pacemen across the Tasman for the three-Test series against Australia.

Seamers Trent Boult and Tim Southee, who both missed the tour of Africa, head the pace attack with support from Matt Henry and Doug Bracewell.

There is no place for England tourist left-armer Neil Wagner or Perth-born batsman Dean Brownlie with Hamish Rutherford preferred at the top of the order.

All-rounders Corey Anderson and James Neesham, who have both had injury woes of late, are included.

"A lot of our recent success has been based on the value of our number six batsman bowling some overs, and we're comfortable continuing in that vein," coach Mike Hesson said.

"Rather than having an extra fast bowler not playing in Australia, we thought it more prudent for those in contention to remain in New Zealand and be playing domestic cricket."

The 15-strong squad also sees the return of captain Brendon McCullum who sat out the African tour.

McCullum said on Thursday he was expecting a tough series, although Australia would be a different team without Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin and Shane Watson.

"Australia in their own conditions are a formidable side, regardless of how much experience or inexperience they possess in their group."

New Zealand is scheduled to play three warm-up matches before Tests in Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.

The first Test begins on November 5, the second on November 12 and the third on November 27.

New Zealand squad: Brendon McCullum (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon