You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

NRL Grand Final 2015: Cowboys pip Broncos in classic decider


The first all-Queensland NRL grand final has been decided, with the North Queensland Cowboys winning 17-16 over the Brisbane Broncos thanks to an extra-time field goal from Johnathan Thurston.

The Broncos lit the game up in the opening minutes with a length of the field try to Corey Oates, but North Queensland quickly struck back thanks to some clever scrumbase play from hooker Jake Granville.

That exchange set up the trend of the first half, with the teams swapping tries. The Broncos led 14-12 at half-time thanks to a Corey Parker penalty goal.

The second-half was a more grinding affair, occasionally broken open by the electrifying ballplay of Brisbane five-eighth Anthony Milford. Jordan Kahu kicked a second penalty goal to give the Broncos a 16-12 lead.

The Cowboys spent an eternity camped in the Broncos' end of the ground, with Kane Linnett and Lachlan Coote both bombing tries under the pressure of some courageous Brisbane defence.

But it was a scrappy try to winger Kyle Feldt that locked the scores up, and JT stepped up to nail the winning kick after the siren.

He hit the posts, but a Ben Hunt knock-on off the extra-time kick-off gifted Thurston a field goal opportunity from right in front.

He iced the shot to give the Cowboys their maiden premiership, and was awarded the Clive Churchill Medal as the best player on the ground in an NRL classic.

The Cowboys pose with the Premiership trophy as they celebrate victory during the 2015 NRL Grand Final match between the Brisbane Broncos and the North Queensland Cowboys at ANZ Stadium on October 4, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. NRL Grand Final 2015 in pictures
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon