You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Stars sign up for Super League

Sky Sports Sky Sports 14/04/2016


© Provided by BSkyB

Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry and Suzie Bates are among the overseas marquee players that will take part in this year's inaugural Kia Super League. 

West Indies' Women's Twenty20 World Cup-winning skipper Stafanie Taylor and team-mate Deandra Dottin have also been confirmed to play in the round-robin event, scheduled to run from 30 July until 21 August.

Each franchise will field three overseas players, with Australia skipper Lanning selected by Surrey Stars alongside international team-mate Rene Farrell and South African all-rounder Marizanne Kapp.

"I'm really looking forward to playing in the Kia Super League," said Lanning, who is ranked as the best T20 batter in world cricket.

"It's another huge step forward for the women's game following on from the Women's Big Bash League in Australia, and I can't wait to get stuck in with the Surrey Stars once the tournament gets underway at the end of July.

"The interest in the Kia Super League and WBBL from overseas players demonstrates how valuable these new competitions are for the global development of women's cricket - as international players it's a really good time to be involved in the game."

Perry is one of three all-rounders picked up by Loughborough Lightning. The 25-year-old former Australia football international is joined at Loughborough by South African Dane van Nierkerk and New Zealand's Sophie Devine.

"Having the Kia Super League follow the Women's Big Bash League in Australia speaks volumes for the brilliant effort that Cricket Australia and the ECB are putting in to continue to develop the women's game," Perry said. "To have two strong domestic competitions like this is only going to help this progression."

New Zealand captain Bates - named as Wisden's Leading Women's Cricketer in the World on Tuesday - will link up with England captain Charlotte Edwards at Southern Vipers and is joined at the Hampshire-based outfit by White Ferns team-mate Sara McGlashan and Australian seamer Megan Schutt.

Taylor, who was named Player of the Tournament at last month's ICC Women's World T20, joins England trio Heather Knight, Anya Shrubsole and Fran Wilson at Western Storm.

Dottin has signed for Lancashire Thunder where she will play alongside Kate Cross and 2014 ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year Sarah Taylor.

ECB Director of England Women's Cricket, Clare Connor, said: "One of the driving principles behind the establishment of the Kia Super League was to create a world-class competition where the world's best play. 

"Revealing who the overseas players will be today undoubtedly hits this mark.  The six teams are all brimming with talent, quality and the very best female cricketers from across the world; the Kia Super League is set to be a brilliant showcase for the women's game.

"Over the last few weeks, we have worked extensively with the Kia Super League teams to select the overseas players from a pool of over 65 who expressed an interest in being involved this summer.  To see the final allocations in black and white is very exciting and I cannot wait to see these teams in action now."

Overseas player allocations in full:

Lancashire Thunder: Sarah Coyte (Australia), Deandra Dottin(West Indies), (third player to be announced).

Loughborough Lightning: Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Dane van Nierkerk (South Africa).

Southern Vipers: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Sara McGlashan (New Zealand) Megan Schutt (Australia).

Surrey Stars: Rene Farrell (Australia), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Meg Lanning (Australia).

Western Storm: Lizell Lee (South Africa), Rachel Priest (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies).

Yorkshire Diamonds: Alex Blackwell (Australia), Beth Mooney (Australia), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).

More From Sky Sports

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon