You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Australia name unchanged 12-man Test squad

AAP logoAAP 7/12/2016 Warren Barnsley

Australia's three debutants have kept their spots in an unchanged 12-man squad for the day-night first Test against Pakistan in Brisbane.

Batsmen Matt Renshaw, Peter Handscomb and Nic Maddinson will line up for the pink-ball match at the Gabba starting next Thursday after debuting for Australia in a consolation third Test win over South Africa in Adelaide last month.

Opening batsman Shaun Marsh was not considered as he's still recovering from a finger injury that kept him out of the last two Tests against the Proteas.

It could be the first time this summer Australia heads into a Test without changes, with pace duo Jackson Bird and Chadd Sayers to duel for the third seamer position.

Tasmanian Bird was sound after being given his chance in the third Test against the Proteas with three wickets for the match, while Sayers is in exceptional form.

The South Australian swing bowler dismantled NSW in the Redbacks' Sheffield Shield victory this week, taking 5-27 as the Blues were skittled for 87 in their second innings.

Maddinson will be the most under pressure at the Gabba, having fallen for a 12-ball duck in his only innings in Adelaide.

The 24-year-old bounced back with 80 in the first innings for NSW against South Australia.

"We were very pleased with how the team came together in Adelaide after some significant changes following the Tests in Perth and Hobart," head selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

"This is a young group with a lot of promise and we believe all deserve their opportunity again in this upcoming Test."

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner (vice-capt), Matthew Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Chadd Sayers.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon