You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Cahill out of Roos squad to face Thailand

AAP logoAAP 1/11/2016 Emma Kemp

Tim Cahill has been ruled out of the Socceroos' final 23-man squad for this month's World Cup qualifier against Thailand as he recovers from soreness.

Brisbane striker Jamie Maclaren has been called up to take Cahill's place for the November 15 fixture in Bangkok, propelled into the frame by his performance against Perth last weekend.

Cahill's omission is one of four changes to the team that drew with Saudi Arabia and Japan last month.

Nathan Burns, Josh Risdon and Milos Degenek join Maclaren as new faces.

Apo Giannou, Ryan McGowan and Chris Ikonomidis were struck from the list while Luke Brattan, Tommy Oar, Jason Geria and Aziz Behich were not selected from the extended 30-man line-up announced last week.

Cahill missed Melbourne City's match with Adelaide United last weekend, and coach Ange Postecoglou preferred he stay in Australia while the rest of the team is put through an intense workload in a longer-than-usual pre-match camp.

"Tim has been left out primarily because we have a 10-day lead-in, which is very rare, and I want to be able to put the squad through a lot of work," Postecoglou said.

"He has done a lot of travel for club and country, and I have decided it is better he remains in Melbourne where he is being managed well to ensure he is back on the park as soon as possible and ready for us down the track."

The squad will begin arriving into Bangkok on Sunday ahead of the match, which signifies the half-way mark of the Socceroos' final stage on the road to Russia 2018.

The Socceroos are second in Group B, two points behind Saudi Arabia, and can ill-afford to slip up against a winless Thailand on their mission to qualify as one of the top two in their six-team group.

The match will go ahead despite the recent death of Thailand's king, though supporters have been asked to treat it as a solemn occasion.

Australia: Nathan Burns, Milos Degenek, Adam Federici, Alex Gersbach, Craig Goodwin, Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, James Jeggo, Tomi Juric, Robbie Kruse, Mitchell Langerak, Mathew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, Jamie Maclaren, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Josh Risdon, Tommy Rogic, Mathew Ryan, Trent Sainsbury, Brad Smith, Matthew Spiranovic, Bailey Wright.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon