You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Final Victorian Senate count declared

AAP logoAAP 3/08/2016 By Paul Osborne, AAP Senior Political Writer

The coalition has picked up five Senate seats in Victoria, denying a win for One Nation and ending the terms of two key crossbenchers.

Labor won four seats, while the Greens leader Richard Di Natale and running mate Janet Rice retained their seats.

Broadcaster Derryn Hinch will sit on the crossbench, having been elected on a platform of tougher sentences for violent crime and voluntary euthanasia.

The final result means the end of Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party's Ricky Muir's term and that of John Madigan, who initially stood for the Democratic Labour Party but quit the party in 2014 to sit as an independent.

Mr Muir said he did not regret allowing the government to have a double dissolution trigger.

"It has been a roller coaster ride one could never forget and one I will never regret," he said in a statement.

Of his achievements, he said the proudest was hearing people in the street say "you gave me hope" or "you influenced me to try".

"If my legacy was to motivate people into having a go ... then I could achieve nothing more for the rest of my life and feel that my job is complete," he said.

The coalition's Victorian team comprises Mitch Fifield, Bridget McKenzie, Scott Ryan, James Paterson and newcomer Jane Hume.

Labor senators are Kim Carr, Stephen Conroy, Jacinta Collins and Gavin Marshall.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon