You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

How the Wallabies line up against Ireland

AAP logoAAP 24/11/2016 Joe Barton


Head to head: Played 32, Australia 21, Ireland 10, Drawn 1


2014: Ireland 26-23, Lansdowne Road, Dublin

2013: Australia 32-15, Lansdowne Road, Dublin

2011: Ireland 15-6, Auckland

2010: Australia 22-15, Brisbane

2009: 20-all draw, Croke Park, Dublin

2008: Australia 18-12, Melbourne

2006: Ireland 21-6, Lansdowne Road, Dublin

2006: Australia 37-15, Perth

2005: Australia 30-14, Lansdowne Road, Dublin

2003: Australia 17-16, Melbourne


Lost 21-9 to New Zealand at Lansdowne Road, Dublin

Won 52-21 against Canada at Lansdowne Road, Dublin

Won 40-29 against New Zealand in Chicago, USA


Won 25-23 against France in Paris

Won 23-22 against Scotland in Edinburgh

Won 32-8 against Wales in Cardiff

Key match-ups:

The lineout: Australia see this as Ireland's strength, and have picked a team intent on spoiling that threat. Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons and the towering Rory Arnold will all be tasked with trying to spoil Ireland's clean ball - but the super-impressive Devin Toner won't make life easy for them.

Five-eighth: Ireland have lost their on-field mastermind, with Johnny Sexton ruled out with a hamstring injury, giving Australia a serious leg-up. The continuity of having Bernard Foley lining up in his 14th Test of the year cannot be undersold. Foley has arguably been Australia's best performer on the Spring Tour and his goalkicking has been crucial in the two tight games.

The captains: Rory Best and Stephen Moore will both play in milestone fixtures. Moore will become the equal second-most capped Wallaby when he trots out for his 116th game, while Best brings up a century. In what will be a hotly contested match across the park, no doubt both elder statesmen of the game will have plenty to say to the referee to keep things in check as well.


Australia: Israel Folau, Dane Haylett-Petty, Tevita Kuridrani, Reece Hodge, Henry Speight, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons, Rory Arnold, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (capt), Scott Sio. Res: Tolu Latu, James Slipper, Allan Alaalatoa, Kane Douglas, Lopeti Timani, Sean McMahon, Nick Phipps, Quade Cooper, Sefanaia Naivalu (one to be omitted).

France: Rob Kearney, Andrew Trimble, Jared Payne, Garry Ringrose, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson, Conor Murray; Jamie Heaslip, Sean O'Brien, CJ Stander, Devin Toner, Iain Henderson, Tadhg Furlong, Rory Best (capt), Jack McGrath. Res: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Josh Van der Flier, Kieran Marmion, Joey Carbery, Simon Zebo

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon