You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Michael Hutchence to be honoured in Sydney

AAP logoAAP 13/12/2016 Danielle McGrane

Michael Hutchence and Andrew Farriss concocted a sound so unique that even their sin was original.

Almost four decades on from the formation of seminal Australian band INXS, the group's two main songwriters will be inducted into the Australian Songwriters Association Hall Of Fame.

It's a fitting tribute to the pair whose hits included The One Thing (1982) and Original Sin (1983) which provided the soundtrack to Australian life in the decade that style forgot.

But it was their work on 1987 album Kick, writing songs such as Never Tear Us Apart, Need You Tonight and New Sensation, that brought their talent to the rest of the world and catapulted them to international stardom.

In 1990, they released the album X featuring songs such as Suicide Blonde and Bitter Tears written by the pair, which led to their massive Summer XS Tour and included a sold out performance at London's Wembley Stadium to 74,000 people.

Michael's sister Tina has flown in from her home in the US to accept the award in Sydney on her late brother's behalf. It's an accolade that would have been particularly important to him, she says.

"He was such a great Australian, he was so proud of being Australian as he toured the world," Tina told ABC radio on Wednesday.

It's been 19 years since Hutchence's death in Sydney and Tina also talked about the final phone call she had with her brother four days before he died.

"He was upset, he was very nervous and he didn't want to be on tour at that time," Tina said.

The Australian Songwriters Hall of Fame was established in 2004 and is given out annually at The National Songwriting Awards, with previous winners including Johnny Young, The Easybeats and The Angels.

Now it's time for Australia's own Lennon and McCartney to take their place alongside their fellow great songwriters at a ceremony for the pair in Campsie, southwest Sydney on Wednesday night.

Noiseworks frontman Jon Stevens, who performed for a brief period with INXS after Michael's death, will perform two of the band's songs at the awards.

Previous Australian Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees:

2004 - Harry Vanda, George Young and Stevie Wright (The Easybeats)

2005 - Russell Morris

2006 - Glenn Shorrock, Beeb Birtles and Graeham Goble (The Little River Band)

2007 - Brian Cadd (The Groop, Axiom, Flying Burrito Brothers and solo)

2008 - Doc Neeson, Rick Brewster and John Brewster (The Angels)

2009 - Ross Wilson (Daddy Cool, Mondo Rock and solo)

2010 - Richard Clapton

2011 - Steve Kilbey (The Church)

2012 - Don Walker (Cold Chisel)

2013 - Garth Porter (Sherbet)

2014 - Kate Ceberano

2015 - Johnny Young

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon