You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

MPs demoted after vote on NSW dog race ban

AAP logoAAP 25/08/2016

Two NSW National Party MPs who crossed the floor to vote against legislation banning greyhound racing have lost their parliamentary secretary roles.

NSW Nationals leader and Deputy Premier Troy Grant has replaced Katrina Hodgkinson and Chris Gulaptis days after they voted unsuccessfully with Labor to block the ban on greyhound racing.

Mr Grant announced on Friday Adam Marshall has been appointed Parliamentary Secretary for Northern NSW and Renewable Energy and and Bronnie Taylor would take on the role for Southern NSW and Regional Communications.

The move follows reports Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull criticised the NSW government for its decision to ban greyhound racing saying it was an "overreaction".

Mr Turnbull expressed concern about the decision and the state government's handling of the issue at a dinner with other MPs in early August, The Australian reports.

Cabinet Minister Christopher Pyne dismissed the report, telling the Nine Network he won't respond to gossip from a private dinner.

Labor frontbencher Anthony Albanese praised NSW Premier Mike Baird for being prepared to make a tough decision despite objections among some on his own side of politics.

"I give Mike Baird a bit of credit for actually being prepared to take a tough decision unlike Malcolm Turnbull who... won't take on the hard right in his own party," he told the Nine Network.

Mr Grant has praised the two new Nationals parliamentary secretaries for their "track record of delivering for their communities" while also thanking the dumped MPs.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon