You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Relocation on cards for Lib senator in Tas

AAP logoAAP 27/07/2016 Andrew Drummond

There's just one new face among Tasmania's senators and that's Liberal Jonathon Duniam and his introduction to federal politics might involve moving house.

The distribution of preferences resulted in an upper house line-up of five Labor, four Liberal, two Green and one independent senators.

It meant former federal coalition minister Richard Colbeck was squeezed out, while Labor's Lisa Singh achieved what had been deemed impossible: gaining re-election from the last spot on her party's senate ticket.

Following the July 2 election the Liberal party in Tasmania is bereft of lower house MPs and has four senators, none of who are based in the state's northwest.

Senior Liberal Eric Abetz, who was re-elected with Tasmania's highest upper house vote, said the party will look at spreading representation across the state.

Hobart-based but Burnie-born Mr Duniam, 33, might be a logical option if relocation is deemed necessary.

"We had been desperately hoping that Richard Colbeck would be re-elected, that has now regrettably not occurred and we will have discussions as to how best we can serve the people of Tasmania," Senator Abetz said.


Labor: Anne Urquhart, Helen Polley, Carol Brown, Catryna Bilyk, Lisa Singh

Liberal: Eric Abetz, Stephen Parry, Jonathon Duniam, David Bushby

Australian Greens: Peter Whish-Wilson, Nick McKim

Independent: Jacqui Lambie

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon