You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Shocked Smith cops lbw call on the chin

AAP logoAAP 5/11/2016 Justin Chadwick

Australia skipper Steve Smith says he was simply shocked and not meaning to show any sign of disrespect when he was controversially dismissed lbw during the first Test against South Africa at the WACA Ground.

Smith was left dumbfounded after being given out lbw by umpire Aleem Dar on Friday despite charging well down the wicket to spinner Keshav Maharaj.

The 27-year-old made his displeasure over the decision clear with his body language, but he was given his marching orders after the decision review upheld the umpire's call.

"No it wasn't aggressive," Smith said on Saturday of his reaction at the time on Friday.

"I was a little bit surprised to be honest with you. I was a bit disappointed at the time.

"Obviously when you come down the wicket like that, you kind of think you're going to be OK.

"But Aleem made his decision, and it was obviously backed up by the Hawk Eye. There's not much I could do about it. I'm just going to have to use my bat in the future."

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon