You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

The Northern Territory's new parliament

AAP logoAAP 15/10/2016 Lucy Hughes Jones


- inexperienced new Labor government snapped up 18 seats in the 25-seat parliament

- Country Liberal Party reduced to just two in the August election bloodbath following four scandal-plagued years in power

- five independents including returning Speaker Kezia Purick and former CLP chief minister Terry Mills form an unprecedented makeup

- newly-elected independent Yingiya Mark Guyula risks losing his seat amid a complaint about eligibility

- concerns Labor will govern without any accountability with independents not resourced to scrutinise bills.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon