You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Top Stories

Man City crowned Premier League champions

Sky Sports logo Sky Sports 15/4/2018
a man standing in front of a crowd: Getty © Provided by BSkyB Getty

Manchester City have been crowned Premier League champions following Manchester United's shock home defeat against West Brom on Sunday. 

Pep Guardiola clinches his first title as manager and the club's third of the Premier League era after their 28th victory of the season against Tottenham on Saturday meant United had to avoid defeat at Old Trafford, live on Sky Sports.

But instead - watched by their legendary former manager Sir Alex Ferguson - Jose Mourinho's side slipped up against the league's bottom club thanks to a 73rd-minute strike from Jay Rodriguez.

City could have won the title against their arch-rivals United last weekend but had to wait after surrendering a two-goal lead at the Etihad and handing Mourinho's team a stunning 3-2 comeback victory.

Yet they still clinch the trophy with five games to spare - a joint-Premier League record - after dominating the division for most of the campaign.

City did not lose a game until January against Liverpool, and drew just twice until that memorable clash at Anfield, while smashing five past Liverpool at the Etihad early in the season, as they stunned opposition, supporters and critics alike with their performances.

They also hit four past Tottenham, six past Watford and seven past Stoke City in huge wins before Christmas, while also winning 2-1 away at rivals United in December as they also finished top of their Champions League group.

Guardiola's side have only dropped points against Burnley and United since the New Year, while marching into an explosive Champions League quarter-final with Liverpool that saw them knocked out earlier this month.

With 87 points from 33 matches, City win their first Premier League title since 2013-14 under Manuel Pellegrini and their third in seven years since being bought by the Abu Dhabi United Group in 2008. It is also City's fourth top-flight title in their history.

More From Sky Sports

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon