You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

2015 Acura TLX Earns 5-Star Safety Rating from NHTSA

Motor Trend logo Motor Trend 3/5/2015 Karla Sanchez

The 2015 Acura TLX has not only been named an IIHS Top Safety Pick +, but also a five-star-rated vehicle from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. That means the midsize sedan earned a five-star overall vehicle safety score, with the highest marks in all of the NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) tests.

This includes the frontal crash test, side crash, and rollover tests, all of which the TLX earned five stars.. Its strong performance was aided by Honda's next-generation Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) body structure, which helps distribute crash energy more evenly throughout the car. A host of advanced safety air bags such as the knee airbags also helped the midsize luxury sedan earn top marks.

Related: Safest Vehicles for Drivers

The TLX is also the first Acura to be equipped with AcuraWatch, which utilizes sensor fusion technology with a radar and camera mounted to the windshield. This helps increase the vehicle’s sensing capabilities, and Acura plans on introducing the safety suite in all of its other models for 2016. AcuraWatch features include forward collision warning, adaptive cruise control, low-speed follow, blind spot information, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, rear cross traffic monitor, and a multi-view rear view camera.

2015 Acura TLX© Provided by MotorTrend 2015 Acura TLX

Other Acura models that have earned high marks from the IIHS and NHTSA include the 2015 RLX and the MDX SUV. However, after introducing AcuraWatch, the automaker plans on having all of its models excel in both IIHS and NHTSA ratings.

2015 Acura TLX© Provided by MotorTrend 2015 Acura TLX

The TLX replaces the TSX and TL, and the last time the NHTSA tested the 2014 TSX, the sedan achieved a five star rating in the rollover test, though it was not tested for the other tests. The TLX is a vast improvement over the TL though, as 2014 model earned four stars in the overall rating, with four stars in the frontal and side crashes, and five in the rollover test.

Source: Acura, NHTSA

2015 Acura TLX© Provided by MotorTrend 2015 Acura TLX

More from Motor Trend


image beaconimage beaconimage beacon