You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Camera Operators Nominate 'Lone Survivor,' 'Gravity,' 'American Hustle'


By Steve Pond

The camera operators who worked in the rough terrain of New Mexico (for "Lone Survivor," above), in a cramped suburban house in the South ("Labor Day") and in the virtual, digital realm of outer space ("Gravity") have been recognized for their work by the Society of Camera Operators, which announced its 2013 film and television nominations on Thursday.

In addition to "Lone Survivor," "Labor Day" and "Gravity," nominated camera operators in film included those who worked on "Saving Mr. Banks" and "American Hustle."

Also read: Cinematographers Nominate 'Gravity,' 'Captain Phillips' and 5 More

On the television side, nominated shows were "Homeland," "Mad Men," "Scandal," "Body of Proof" and "American Horror Story: Asylum."

The SOC will name the winners at an awards show on Feb. 15 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

At that show, lifetime achievement awards will go to Jack Carpenter, William Coe, Chris Haarhoff and Barry Wetcher. The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Stan McClain, while the Presidents Award will be given to Leonard Chapman.

The nominees:

Camera Operator of the Year - Feature Film:
Ian Fox, SOC, "Saving Mr. Banks"
Geoffrey Haley, SOC, "American Hustle"
Jacques Jouffret, SOC, "Lone Survivor"
P. Scott Sakamoto, SOC, "Labor Day"
Peter Taylor, ACO, SOC, "Gravity"

Camera Operator of the Year - Television:
Nicholas Davidoff, SOC, "Homeland"
Don Devine, SOC, "Mad Men"
Steve Fracol, SOC, "Scandal"
Kenji Luster, SOC, "Body of Proof"
James Reid, SOC, "American Horror Story: Asylum"

The post Camera Operators Nominate 'Lone Survivor,' 'Gravity,' 'American Hustle' appeared first on TheWrap.

Related stories from TheWrap:

Academy's Sci-Tech Awards to Honor Film Labs

Cinematographers Nominate 'Gravity,' 'Captain Phillips' and 5 More

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon