You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Celiacs Rejoice: These Halloween Candies Are Gluten-Free

PopSugar logo PopSugar 10/10/2018 Jenny Sugar
a cutting board with a cake: Celiacs Rejoice: These Halloween Candies Are Gluten-Free © POPSUGAR Photography / Anna Monette Roberts Celiacs Rejoice: These Halloween Candies Are Gluten-Free

Holidays can be a real drag if you have dietary restrictions, and with Halloween being all about the candy, it can be downright scary. But there's good news for those avoiding gluten: although you'll have to steer clear of homemade mummy-shaped cakes and brownies decorated adorably with spiderwebs, most candy bars and hard candies get the green light - just stay away from Twizzlers, because they surprisingly do contain gluten!

Now, we're not saying to go crazy with the candies, but when a majority of "fun size" bars are only 100 calories, a little indulging might be necessary.

Use our handy guide to sort through all your Halloween candy this year. © POPSUGAR Photography / Anna Monette Roberts Use our handy guide to sort through all your Halloween candy this year.

First things first. Always read the label on your candy before consuming. Unless labeled "gluten-free," candy may contain traces of gluten, be produced in a facility that also processes products with wheat, or be made on equipment that is shared with products that are not gluten-free. Also note that a product labeled as gluten-free in one country may not be gluten-free where you live.

Companies are constantly changing the ingredients they put in products, so always double check just to be sure. When in doubt, you can call the 1-800 number located on the packaging to speak with a customer service representative to find out for sure if it's free of gluten.

Here's a list of popular candy that is currently gluten-free:


Almond Joy

Baby Ruth

Blow Pops

Butterfinger (fun size only)

Charleston Chew



Heath Bar

Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. only)

Hershey's Milk Chocolate With Almonds Bar (1.55 oz. only)

Hershey's Kisses

Hershey's Nuggets

Oh Henry!

Junior Mints

Milk Duds

Mounds Bar



Reese's Fast Break Bar

Reese's Nutrageous

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup (all except seasonal shaped items)

Reese's Pieces

Rolos (all except Rolo Minis)

Skor Toffee Bar

Tootsie Roll

York Peppermint Pattie (all except York Pieces Candy, York Minis, and York Shapes)


Charms Blow Pops


Haribo Gold-Bears (not Juicy variety)

Hot Tamales

Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

Laffy Taffy

Mike and Ike Original Fruits

Pixy Stix


Sugar Babies

Sugar Daddy

Surf Sweets Gummies, Sour Candies, Fruit RIngs, and Jelly Beans


Tootsie Pops

Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

If you're wondering about M&M's, Snickers, Twix, 3 Musketeers, Starburst, Skittles, Lifesavers, and Milky Way, the company that makes these products, Mars Wrigley, urges consumers to read the labels directly on the package for allergy information.


More from Popsugar

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon