You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

News: Homepage News Stripe

When Is the Upcoming Blood Moon?

Newsweek logo Newsweek 6/25/2018 Katherine Hignett
a star in the background © Provided by IBT Media

The night of July 27 and the morning of July 28—depending on your location—will see the longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century, lasting for 1 hour 43 minutes, EarthSky reported.

Mars will also appear especially large and bright in the sky that night as it moves towards its closest approach to Earth for 15 years. Weather permitting, this will give skywatchers a great view of the Red Planet alongside a glowing red moon.

The eclipse will be visible from the Eastern hemisphere in particular—that’s the half of the planet home to Asia, Australia, New Zealand and much of Europe and Africa. Some Western hemisphere locations, including some of South America, will also catch a glimpse.

A lunar eclipse takes place when the moon passes through the Earth’s shadow. When the moon travels through the darkest region of Earth’s shadow—the "umbra"—it glows a reddish-orange colour, hence the term "blood moon."

A partial eclipse occurs when the moon passes through the Earth’s outer shadow; its "penumbra." You can see whether your region will get a total eclipse, a partial eclipse, or no eclipse at all on this map from timeanddate.com.

The eclipse will take place from 6.24 p.m. UTC (2.24 p.m. ET) and 10.19 p.m. UTC (6.24 p.m. ET). The event will begin with a partial eclipse till about 7.30 p.m. UTC, before the skies are graced with the especially long total eclipse.

Read more: Earth’s days are getting longer—thanks to the moon

The total eclipse will take place from 7.30 p.m. UTC (3.30 p.m. ET) until 9.13 p.m. UTC (5.13 p.m. ET). The moon will be partially eclipsed for roughly an hour before and after the main event. The greatest eclipse will occur at 8.22 p.m. UTC (4.22 p.m. ET), EarthSky reported.

Astronomers in Australia and New Zealand will have to wait until the morning of July 28 to see our rocky satellite eclipsed at moonset.

Read more: Mars will appear larger and brighter than it has for 15 years next month: Here's how to see it

Moon gazers in North America—and most of the Arctic—won’t be treated to the eclipse this time around. But, budding astronomers can catch the spectacle online via live streams from the Virtual Telescope Project (VTP) and timeanddate.com. The VTP stream will start from 6.30 p.m. UTC (2.30 p.m. ET), and timeanddate.com's will start at 6.00 p.m. UTC (2 p.m. ET).

You can also see when to look to the sky—or to your screen if you’re in the U.S.—in your region at timeanddate.com.

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from Newsweek

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon