You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Today in History: June 25

Slide 1 of 12: USA South Atlantic States - Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, Louisiana (1877)

1868: Florida is readmitted to the Union

After losing the Civil War, the former Confederate state adopts a new state constitution and ratifies amendments to the U.S. Constitution. They were readmitted to Congress and fully restored to the U.S.

© THEPALMER/iStock/Getty Images
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon