You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Top Stories

Andrew Benintendi thinks umpires blew call to help no-hitter

Larry Brown Sports logo Larry Brown Sports 4/22/2018 Larry Brown

Andrew Benintendi was not happy about the umpires overturning a call during Saturday night’s Boston Red Sox-Oakland A’s game that helped Sean Manaea achieve his no-hitter.

Benintendi was batting with two outs in the top of the sixth inning when he grounded a ball to first base. Oakland’s Matt Olson fielded it and tried to reach out to tag Benintendi but missed him, which put Benintendi on first for Boston’s first hit of the game. The A’s challenged the play because they thought Benintendi was out of the base path, and the umpires agreed upon review. They overturned the call from a hit and ruled that Benintendi was out of the base path.

After the game, Benintendi called it a “missed call” by the umpires. The Boston Globe’s Pete Abraham adds that Benintendi felt the umpires were trying to help Manaea to keep the no-hitter intact.

Umpire crew chief Brian Gorman defended the call, noting the rule says that if a runner goes more than three feet out of the path, the runner should be out.

Though Benintendi was understandably steamed over the call, at least one of his teammates was more magnanimous. Hanley Ramirez tipped his cap to Manaea with a tweet.

On top of the Benintendi play, there was a ball in the fifth inning that was ruled an error that Manaea thought was a hit. He said after the game that he didn’t even know he had a no-hitter until the eighth as a result.

The controversial calls didn’t stop Twitter from reacting positively to Manaea’s outing. No matter how you slice it, shutting out the best team in MLB is impressive.

Related slideshow: 2018 MLB season (Provided by photo services)


More from Larry Brown Sports

Larry Brown Sports
Larry Brown Sports
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon