You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

‘Hamilton’ World Dominance Continues With Questlove, Regina Spektor ‘Mixtape’ Launch

Deadline logo Deadline 12/1/2016 Jeremy Gerard
© Provided by Deadline

The Richard Rodgers Theatre, home for the foreseeable future to the blockbuster musical Hamilton, was packed Thursday afternoon with fans and press to hear live performances of songs from the show by some of rap’s biggest stars. The brief event was a promotion for the release tomorrow of The Hamilton Mixtape, which will likely become as big a seller as the Grammy-winning original Broadway cast album. The Roots’ Black Thought and Questlove, who produced the cast album, hosted the event. Producers Illmind and J.Period manned the turntables before the live performances began.

Regina Spektor gave a soulful cover of “Dear Theodosia,” the song Hamilton sings to his newborn. Andra Day brought the crowd to its feet with a rousing version of “Burn,” while Black Thought and Joell Ortiz rocked the house with “My Shot.” Ashanti and Ja Rule closed the teaser concert with a duet of “Helpless.”

The album features Alicia Keys, John Legend, Usher, Wiz Khalifa, Ingrid Michaelson, Common, Sia, Kelly Clarkson and Chance the Rapper performing new covers of songs from the show, which traces the life, career and death-by-duel of Founding Father Alexander Hamilton. The mini-concert was streamed live from the Richard Rodgers. Lin-Manuel Miranda, the show’s creator, appeared via a pretaped video from London, where he is filming Mary Poppins Returns.

Here’s the album playlist:

1. “No John Trumbull (Intro)” – The Roots

2. “My Shot (Rise Up Remix)” – The Roots featuring Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz & Nate Ruess

3. “Wrote My Way Out” – Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Aloe Blacc

4. “Wait for It” – Usher

5. “An Open Letter (Interlude)” – Watsky featuring Shockwave

6. “Satisfied” – Sia featuring Miguel & Queen Latifah

7. “Dear Theodosia” – Regina Spektor featuring Ben Folds

8. “Valley Forge (Demo)” – Lin-Manuel Miranda

9. “It’s Quiet Uptown” – Kelly Clarkson

10. “That Would Be Enough” – Alicia Keys

11. “Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)” – K’naan, Snow tha Product, Riz MC, Residente

12. “You’ll Be Back” – Jimmy Fallon & the Roots

13. “Helpless” – Ashanti featuring Ja Rule

14. “Take a Break (Interlude)” – !llmind

15. “Say Yes to This” – Jill Scott

16. “Congratulatons” – Dessa

17. “Burn” – Andra Day

18. “Stay Alive (Interlude)” – J. Period & Stro Elliot

19. “Cabinet Battle 3 (Demo)” – Lin-Manuel Miranda

20. “Washingtons By Your Side” – Wiz Khalifa

21. “History Has Its Eyes on You” – John Legend

22. “Who Tells Your Story” – The Roots featuring Common and Ingrid Michaelson

23. “Dear Theodosia (Reprise)” – Chance the Rapper & Francis and the Lights

What's next for Lin-Manuel Miranda:



More from Deadline

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon