You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

‘King of the Hill’ Creator Mike Judge to Receive Writers Guild Animation Award

Variety logo Variety 12/13/2016 Dave McNary
© Provided by Variety

King of the Hill” and “Silicon Valley” co-creator Mike Judge has been selected to receive the Writers Guild of America West’s Animation Writers Caucus’ 2016 writing award for lifetime achievement.

“We’re very excited for Mike Judge to receive this long-overdue honor,” said WGA West VP David A. Goodman.

“His contributions to the field of animation, among them the groundbreaking ‘Beavis and Butt-Head,’ and the long-running hit ‘King of the Hill’ have advanced the form of animation storytelling and continue to be a benchmark for creators everywhere,” Goodman said. “We applaud the risk he took to guarantee making ‘King of the Hill’ a WGA-covered show, which to this day helps the Guild chip away at the precedents that keep writers who work in animation from receiving the guarantees and benefits of our union.”

Judge, a WGA member since 1998, was born in 1962 in Ecuador and raised in Albuquerque, N.M. MTV picked up Judge’s 1992 animated short, “Frog Baseball,” launching his career in animation. His “Beavis and Butt-Head” originally ran on MTV from 1993 to 1997.

“King of the Hill,” co-created by Judge and Greg Daniels, aired from 1997 to 2010, and won a Primetime Emmy Award for outstanding animated program in 1999, as well as five more Emmy nominations. For his voice work as Hank Hill, Judge earned two Annie Awards nominations in 1997 and 2000.

Judge also wrote and directed 1999’s comedy “Office Space,” based on his own “Milton” animated short films, 2006’s “Idiocracy,” and the 2009 workplace comedy “Extract.” He also contributed voice work to “South Park,” “Family Guy,” and “Aqua Teen Hunger Force,” and portrayed Donnagon in the trio of “Spy Kids” movies.

Judge is a co-creator, executive producer, writer, and director for “Silicon Valley,” currently in production on its fourth season. Judge has earned three Primetime Emmy nominations for the series.

Previous AWC animation writing award honorees include Stan Berkowitz, Brad Bird, Alan Burnett, Matt Groening, Al Jean & Mike Reiss, Dwayne McDuffie and Earl Kress, Mike Scully, Patric M. Verrone, Linda Woolverton, Sam Simon, Len Uhley, and most recently, Seth MacFarlane.


More from Variety

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon