You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Arcade Fire Speak Out During Surprise Set at Primavera Sound: ‘We’re Not Scared of These Fearmongers’

Variety logo Variety 6/1/2017 Samantha Bullock
© Provided by Variety

Arcade Fire weren’t scheduled to perform at Barcelona’s Primavera Sound festival until Saturday, but they surprised concertgoers Thursday night with a sunset set performed in a boxing-ring-style stage.

The group’s set focused primarily on their last two albums — 2013’s “Reflektor” and 2010’s Grammy-winning “The Suburbs” — but they also performed their new single, “Everything Now,” which is also the title track for their forthcoming fifth album, and promptly released it, complete with a new video, shortly after the performance along with a full slate of fall dates for their “Infinite Content” tour (listed below). Variety broke the news Wednesday that the band has signed a two-album deal with Columbia Records. The “Everything Now” album was produced by the group with Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter and Pulp bassist Steve Mackey, with co-production from longtime associate Markus Dravs. It will be released on July 28.

And as Primavera is the first major European festival to take place since the suicide bombing outside Ariana Grande’s concert in Manchester, Arcade Fire bandleader Win Butler concluded the performance with a message: “We’re not scared of these fear mongers.” He repeated for emphasis: “We’re not f—ing scared.”

ARCADE FIRE

Infinite Content Tour

All Dates On Sale Beginning Friday, June 9 at 10am local time

Tue Sep 05

Quebec City, QC

Centre Videotron

Wed Sep 06

Montreal, QC

Bell Centre

Sat Sep 09

Ottawa, ON

Canadian Tire Centre

Tue Sep 12

New York, NY

Madison Square Garden

Fri Sep 15

Boston, MA

TD Garden

Sat Sep 16

Washington, DC

Verizon Center

Sun Sep 17

Philadelphia, PA

Wells Fargo Center

Thu Sep 21

Atlanta, GA

Infinite Energy Arena

Fri Sep 22

Tampa, FL

USF Sun Dome

Sat Sep 23

Miami, FL

Watsco Center at the University of Miami

Tue Sep 26

New Orleans, LA

UNO Lakefront Arena

Wed Sep 27

Austin, TX

Frank Erwin Center

Thu Sep 28

Dallas, TX

American Airlines Center

Wed Oct 11

Edmonton, AB

Rogers Place

Thu Oct 12

Calgary, AB

Scotiabank Saddledome

Sat Oct 14

Vancouver, BC

Pacific Coliseum

Sun Oct 15

Seattle, WA

Key Arena

Tue Oct 17

Oakland, CA

Oracle Arena

Wed Oct 18

San Diego, CA

Viejas Arena

Fri Oct 20

Los Angeles, CA

The Forum

Sun Oct 22

Las Vegas, NV

Mandalay Bay Events Center

Wed Oct 25

Denver, CO

Pepsi Center

Fri Oct 27

Kansas City, MO

Silverstein Eye Centers Arena

Sun Oct 29

St. Paul, MN

Xcel Energy Center

Wed Nov 01

Windsor, ON

Windsor Credit Family Union Centre

Fri Nov 03

Toronto, ON

Air Canada Centre

Subscribe to Variety Newsletters and Email Alerts!

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from Variety

AdChoices
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon