You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Coppola, Jia selected for 9-member Cannes jury

Coppola, Jia selected for 9-member Cannes jury © WENN / Sofia Coppola Coppola, Jia selected for 9-member Cannes jury

PARIS (AP) -- American director Sofia Coppola and China's Jia Zhangke have been selected among the nine members of the Cannes film festival jury.

The Riviera festival's organizers announced Monday four men and four women who will select the honorees at the May 14-25 event alongside this year's president, New Zealand director Jane Campion.

Jia's "A Touch Of Sin" won Cannes' best screenplay prize last year. Coppola won a best screenplay Oscar for "Lost in Translation" in 2003.

Rounding out the jury are actress Carole Bouquet of France, American actor Willem Dafoe, actresses Leila Hatami of Iran and Jeon Do-yeon of South Korea, actor-director Gael Garcia Bernal of Mexico and Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn.

Eighteen films are vying for the top prize -- the Palme d'Or.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon