You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Paul McCartney to Tour Australia for First Time Since 1993

Variety logo Variety 6/20/2017 Steve Marinucci
© Provided by Variety

Paul McCartney will finally end a 24-year drought of playing concerts in Australia when he announces his first tour of the Land Down Under since 1993 on Wednesday. The announcement adding the shows to his current One On One Tour will be made in a live online web event on Facebook with comedian Tim Minchin at 7:30 p.m. AEST and 9:30 p.m. NZST (For those in the U.S., that’s 5:30 a.m EDT and 2:30 a.m. PDT.) that was announced Tuesday night by Australian tour concert promoter Frontier Touring. Fan questions can be left for the online chat on McCartney’s Facebook page.

Frontier revealed the news of the online tour announcement on its Twitter account (@frontiertouring). “Tune in tomorrow from 7.30PM AEST / 9.30PM NZST as @PaulMcCartney and @timminchin go #OneOnOne on Facebook Live! http://frntr.co/PMcQs). McCartney representatives did not answer a request from Variety for comment on the tour announcement. Australian website news.com.au reported McCartney will play shows in December in Australia and New Zealand. The Melbourne Herald Sun had revealed in early June that McCartney was negotiating for tour dates.

McCartney’s previous Aussie dates, set for Melbourne in 2002, were canceled after two bombs killed 202 people on the island of Bali on Oct. 12, 2002. “Like many who have a deep fondness for Australia, I have been shocked and saddened by the recent terrible events in Bali. My heart goes out to all who have been affected by this tragedy,” he said in a statement released at the time. “As a mark of respect to both the families who have lost loved ones and to the families of the injured, I have decided to postpone my planned concert in Melbourne as this is not the appropriate time for a rock show.” He last played the country in several dates on his New World Tour in the month of March, 1993.

Earlier today, McCartney announced his latest tour stop: Oct. 24 at Atanasio Girardot Stadium in Colombia.

Tune in tomorrow from 7.30PM AEST / 9.30PM NZST as @PaulMcCartney and @timminchin go #OneOnOne on Facebook Live! https://t.co/mnqpYW43topic.twitter.com/Qhb5EF5xEc

— Frontier Touring (@frontiertouring) June 20, 2017

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Related Gallery: Beatlemania: Incredible photos of fans over the years (Via Photo Services) Beatlemania: Incredible photos of fans over the years

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from Variety

AdChoices
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon