You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Whoopi Goldberg Among New Film Academy Governors

Variety logo Variety 6/29/2017 Kristopher Tapley
© Provided by Variety

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the results of this year’s Board of Governors election.

Among those newly elected are Whoopi Goldberg (Actors Branch), Kimberly Peirce (Directors Branch) and Larry Karaszewski (Writers Branch).

Goldberg beat out fellow actors Geena Davis, Edward James Olmos and Rita Wilson for her spot. Peirce toppled Donald M. Petrie, while Karaszewski beat Aline Brosh McKenna, John Ridley and Dana Stevens.

In all, nine women were elected or re-elected to the Board.

One notable name absent from the list is Rob Friedman, who was angling for Cheryl Boone Isaacs’ soon-to-be-vacated public relations seat and was said to still be interested in running for president of the Academy. Former Academy marketing chief Christina Kounelias won that seat instead.

Those elected to the Board for the first time are:

Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch

Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch

Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch

Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch

Kimberly Peirce, Directors Branch

David Linde, Executives Branch

Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch

Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch

Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch

Kate Amend, Documentary Branch

Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch

Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch

Charles Bernstein, Music Branch

Albert Berger, Producers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus is:

Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch

Wednesday the organization announced a record number of new invites to its membership ranks, once again bolstering the group’s diversity goals.

Up next for the Academy will be the election of a new president, as Isaacs prepares to step away after her four-year tenure. That result will be revealed next month.

Subscribe to Variety Newsletters and Email Alerts!


More from Variety

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon