Al utilizar este servicio y el contenido relacionado, aceptas el uso de cookies para análisis, contenido personalizado y publicidad.
Estás usando una versión más antigua del explorador. Usa una versión compatible para obtener la mejor experiencia en MSN.

A league title for Johan Cruyff

Logotipo de SPORTYOU SPORTYOU 14/05/2016 sportyou
Una Liga para Johan Cruyff © Getty Images Una Liga para Johan Cruyff

The league title that FC Barcelona have just conquered in Granada, the 24th in their history, is dedicated to someone very special this time around. It is the first title they have won since Johan Cruyff passed away, just two months ago. The man who changed the history of the club is in the memory of all Culés, and not just because he was the manager who brought them the most league titles.

Of Barça's 24 Liga titles, no fewer than 14 have come to the Camp Nou trophy room since Cruyff was signed as manager in 1988. The Dutch genius won four titles in a row between 1991 and 1994, as opposed to two each won by his fellow Netherlanders Louis van Gaal and Frank Rijkaard and three by his disciple Pep Guardiola. Tito Vilanova won one and Luis Enrique, the last two. Curiously, the Asturian was a signing of Cruyff's, in 1996, although he was dismissed before he ever had the opportunity to coach him the following season.

Barça won their first-ever league in 1929. After the Civil War, they won three more in the forties and another four in the fifties. Apart from the 1959-60 season, the 60s weree a barren decade and in the following ones, until Cruyff took over as manager, there were only two more: the one of 1974 (with Cruyff himself as a player) and 1986 (with Terry Venables on the bench).

Gestión anuncios
Gestión anuncios
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon