Al utilizar este servicio y el contenido relacionado, aceptas el uso de cookies para análisis, contenido personalizado y publicidad.
Estás usando una versión más antigua del explorador. Usa una versión compatible para obtener la mejor experiencia en MSN.

Stats show Barça dominance: 14 out of the last 26 league titles have gone to the Camp Nou

Logotipo de SPORTYOU SPORTYOU 15/05/2016 sportyou
Los datos del dominio del Barça: 14 Ligas de las últimas 26 © Getty Images Los datos del dominio del Barça: 14 Ligas de las últimas 26

The Liga title FC Barcelona have just conquered in Granada confirms that the Azulgranas are the ones who have dominated Spanish football over the last quarter of a century, and even more in the last decade: they have won 14 out of the last 26 league titles. Over the same period, Real Madrid have won seven, Atlético de Madrid and Valencia two each, while Deportivo de La Coruña have taken one. Over the last 12 years, Barça's dominance has been even more pronounced, having won two thirds of the titles, eight in total. Of the other four, three have ended up going to Real Madrid and one to Atlético. Over these decades, the distance between the two giants of Spanish football has been reduced considerably, though Real Madrid still top the historic ranking with a total of 32 titles.

Barça won their first and only pre-Civil War title in the 1928-29 season. Between 1945 and 1960 they had their first golden age in the league championship, carrying off seven titles in 15 years (1944-45, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1951-52, 1952-53, 1958-59 y 1959-60), the last two under the stewardship of Helenio Herrera.

Then, with no half measures, Barça went through a long barren patch of 14 years without lifting the title. They had to wait until the 1973-74, season, when they won the so-called “Johan Cruyff league". The next one would also require a lot of patience as it was not to come until the 1984-85 season. In total, they won only two leagues in that 25-year period.

The re-birth under Johan Cruyff

The return of Cruyff, now as manager, at the end of the eighties, saw a change in the club's history, with four titles in a row between 1990-91 and 1993-94. With Louis van Gaal they tried to continue the Dutch essence, but although the manager led them to two titles in the 1997-98 and 1998-99 seasons, his never became a long-term project.

Another barren spell followed, until Joan Laporta took over the presidency, with Frank Rijkaard on the bench. Under him, they won the title two more times, in the 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons. After another two title-less seasons, Pep Guardiola took over at the helm in 2008 and steered them to three wins in a row, in the 2008-09, 2009-10 and 2010-11 seasons; Guardiola only failed to win the league in his fourth and final season. His successor, Tito Vilanova, got them back on track in 2012-13, as did Luis Enrique, two years later, and he has now repeated his feat of last season, making it two in a row under his leadership.

Gestión anuncios
Gestión anuncios
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon